Archive | 6:06 pm

Review of The Inside Job vs Aperture by Cameron Francis & Big Blind Media

14 Jul

Reviewed by Bernard Sim


This DVD is a collection of a total of four card effects. A set of gimmicked card is included for “The Inside Job” and “Aperture”.

I feel that the routines/ effects are not bad but it didn’t really impress me, so I won’t rank it as fantastic or a “must buy”. I like The Inside Job better than Aperture. The routines are easy to do and all magicians would be able to do it as long as you can do a DL. Of the four routines, I like “Holy CTE” the most despite it being offered as a bonus effect. Holy CTE is a signed card to an envelope found inside another envelope. This one is easy and convincing too. 2RN is a torn and restore card which I feel is kind of complicated.

Another thing that bugs me a lot while watching Cameron Francis perform is that he likes to say “erm” a lot in his patter. This is probably a lack of proper patter or he forgot what he wants to say. I feel that as a professional magician, one shouldn’t hesitate while pattering. Though some may feel that this is a small thing, I think it is important enough to put in effort to have an interesting patter. I have seen simple tricks with fantastic patter which make the whole routine much more enjoyable. Ok, enough of my ramblings, this last paragraph has nothing to do with the effect in this DVD.

Rating 3/5